Kaia Naturals // The Takesumi Detox Deodorant Review/Challenge

This year I have to congratulate myself on taking the BIG step of breaking up with Starbucks. I’d say we’re more on and off again when I’m feeling the urge to a cheat day. I started eating healthier and even completed a two week detox cleanse to rid my body of built up carb and glucose-induced food and drinks. 

I only recently learned that you can detox your underarms, Say what? Yes! It’s true. This is all the rage in Japan. Takesumi {pronounced Ta-keh-su-mee} is an ancient method of applying charcoal to the underarms to absorb toxins and bacteria. Believe it or not, our underarms don’t have a scent. The mix of bacteria and sweat is what creates the unpleasant odour and that’s why we use deodorants or anti-perspirants to mask it. It’s a continuous cycle of just covering up your underarms. {yuck!}

If you haven’t come across the name Kai Naturals, I’ll let you in on a secret {shhh} they make some killer face wipes. Made with natural ingredients {100% unbleached bamboo} they remove makeup and impurities and are 100% biodegradable and environmentally-friendly. 

The Takesumi challenge was to apply the deodorant daily for 30 days. Oh boy was I feeling the sweat. I was nervous as heck and all I could think of was “What did I commit to?” Kai Naturals created three scents to choose from {juicy bamboo, cold-pressed rose and lime mint} they all sounded so good, but my heart went with juicy bamboo. 

Before I get to the nitty gritty of the challenge, I want to let you know how Takesumi works, what to expect {everyone detox’s differently} and if it’s worth purchasing.

When you think of activated charcoal {charcoal has a porous surface} it acts like a magnet and draws out impurities, toxins and bacteria from your pores. Activated charcoal and natural fermentation technology in Takesumi fight the odour-causing bacteria which leads to that unpleasant underarm odour. 

My first week I applied the deodorant constantly {O.C.D kicked in} and I didn’t really experience much of anything. I must mention though that I really loved the natural fragrance of Juicy Bamboo. The citrus {orange and grapefruit} scent under my arms reminded me of the outdoor hanging laundry days growing up.

The second week was a bit more interesting. I experienced an indescribable odour and I’m sure my choice of clothing {polyester offender} enhanced it. I felt itchy {not crazy itchy} but it quickly dissipated. Kickboxing workouts enhanced the accumulation of toxins for sure, but nothing a quick shower couldn’t suppress. It is recommended to cleanse with a clay-based soap before you apply the deodorant, to avoid any buildup of sweat and bacteria on the skin.  

During my third week of applying Takesumi religiously, the odour subsided. I felt less self-conscious and I didn’t feel the need to stick my hands under my arms to whiff any evidence of offensive B.O.{Body Odour} I felt confident enough to wear tank tops to the gym again. 

My last week was the best week overall. I experienced no side effects. My underarms felt normal and absolutely no scent or sweat. There were days I would be rushing out the door and forget to apply Takesumi but I stayed odour free all day. 

For all the natural beauties out there, all of Kaia Naturals products are 99% natural, vegan and cruelty free. I’m also crushing over the scent of juicy bamboo, but I would be eager to experience all of them. Takesumi will definitely be my choice deodorant and FYI it’s not just a detox treatment, but part of your everyday routine. 
I’m so glad I took on the challenge. This was my first time and definitely not my last. It was simple to do and the results were very effective. Once you’ve completed the four stages of detox, you’ve now transitioned to natural deodorant. 

Sound interested? Keep scrolling down for a special discount code. 


DID YOU KNOW?

Activated bamboo charcoal is ideal for eliminating toxins from your body and has the power to clean deep inside sweat glands.


With its amazing detoxifying abilities, it is used as a universal antidote for poison in virtually every hospital in the world.


Activated charcoal is also used to treat drug overdoses as well as kidney and liver dialysis machines to purify blood before it is allowed to enter back into the body.


Charcoal is so potent that one gram (the size of your fingernail) can absorb enough toxins to fill four tennis courts.

To get you started, I’m offering you a special code { PKBEAUTY } to shop Kaia Naturals products and save 10% off your order at checkout.

Have you tried any Kaia Naturals products? What are your favourites?

Cheers,

Paula 

Leave a Reply

