How I Style my Hair

I love styling my hair…actually I try not to leave the house without primped & proper hair. I’m not a hairstylist & didn’t go to school or anything for it, I’m actually self-taught & with a bit of training from my professional hairstylist sister. I’m actually a professional makeup artist by trade & I truly feel hair & makeup should always coincide with eachother. Don’t you feel beautiful when your hair & makeup is done?…I know I do!

Below I will quickly explain how I dry & style my hair in literally under 20 minutes. I’m a working class mom, so 30-45 minutes including makeup & getting dressed is all I have when getting my son ready for school & getting ready myself.

I shampoo & condition my hair using products from Kevin Murphy & or another green beauty brand called Phillip Adam. It’s a small Canadian brand that I really like as the products are reasonably priced & work well with my hair. After towel drying my hair, I add a dollop of Kevin Murphy Body Builder Volumising Mousse to roots & working to the ends. I flip my hair over & I start blowdrying using my favorite Elchim hair dryer & removing moisture from hair. Once I’ve done that I begin separating sections of hair with a clip and drying with a round brush.

image

I also like to leave brush on my head for a few seconds to create more of a soft wave. You can use any round brush you prefer, I switch from a vented to a boar depending on if I want my hair wavier or smoother.

Once I’m done all my sections, I switch to the cool setting to set hair & close the cuticle. I lightly mist my hair with Bumble & Bumble Dry Spun Spray & I gently brush through. Voila!! A simple & easy DIY hair lesson!

image

Leave a Reply

